Crashing Christmas 

It’s been a difficult few weeks, well, couple of months to be totally honest. 

I had a massive crash 6 weeks ago, I had lost the use of my left arm and shoulder again and my body was in constant spasm. 

Then I got up in the night to go to the bathroom, and my legs felt like jelly, and really shakey. 

I managed to get to the bathroom, and then back to my room.. Despite the now tingling all through my legs and back. I shut my bedroom door stepped forward and ‘bam’ I went down like a large bag of potatoes! 

I had lost total feeling from my waist down and couldn’t move that area at all. 

I will admit, it was very scary. I don’t often feel scared about my symptoms but this, this was a massive shock and with only my right arm working I felt real fear. 

I was slouched on the floor for an hour, slowly inching my way to my bed by pulling myself with my right hand. 

When I got into bed, I was absolutely exhausted. I reached for a drink and my pain meds and diazepam and tried to relax my body as much as possible. 

About 4am I text my mum to ask if she was up, and she was as she’s a very early riser. I chatted to her on the ‘phone about what was going on and made arrangements to get to her house so I could be cared for until it passed or eased off. 

I was there for two weeks, and I slowly got my legs back to walk. I was cared for so well by my parents and sister, and I am and always will be incredible greatful for them and their total support, help and love. 

Since then I am losing the use of my legs on and off and the spasms, pain  and cramps are in overdrive. 

This flare and relapse has put me back months, I’m much better than I was but my body is screaming at me 24/7 and I feel these symptoms, the loss of feelings in my legs is going to become a part of my illness, as all my other new relapse symptoms have. 

So again, I’ve had to put more measures in place to help me through this and seriously think about my future. Like moving and getting an electric wheelchair after I do so I can not stretch and lose the use of my arms by using my self propelling one. And keeping my mobile with me at all times in case the feeling in my lower body disappears again. 

And with Christmas and my sons birthday just around the corner, I’ve been focusing on getting better so I can enjoy and take part of the day. For my sons birthday rather than Christmas. 

I find this time of year can be very depressing when on social media. All the pictures of Christmas parties, social events, tree and decorated homes. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy they are happy and can do these things. But I will admit that it makes me feel left out, look to the past when I was well and did join in with all these things. 

I’ve only just got into the Christmas spirit, and my son hughly contributed to this by encouraging us to put the tree up together. 

That was a beautiful time, spending that time together,  I loved it and I’m glad we put it up as it does make a huge difference and creates a Christmas air 🙂 

I think that many people who are unwell struggle more at Christmas time because there is so much to do, but you’re unable to do much or any of it. The pressure is huge and others can forget you are sick and assume you will sort a lot, which causes huge strain for our bodies and minds. 

We don’t suddenly become well because it’s Christmas, although I would love that Christmas miracle! 

It’s a day that pushes our bodies to the limit and causes huge recupusions, including  severe flares and relapses. 

I know I have to be extremely careful and not push myself between now and Christmas, because darn am I missing out on my sons birthday and then Christmas Day! 

Pace, pace, pace, pace.. Will be my constant repetitive motto, and being sensible and good for once! 🙂
 

Standard

7 thoughts on “Crashing Christmas 

    • Nice to meet you too! Thank you for your kind words, and sorry for the lateness of reply I had no notifications come up and I haven’t been online. Hoping you are well and very happy to connect with you! 🙂

  1. kraftycatcreations says:

    So good to hear from you. Love that no matter what, you have a possitive attitude! I am also trying to pace, pace, pace – not always easy, but it does work. Wishing you the best. Happy Holidays! 🙂

    • Thank you! Sorry for the late reply, I haven’t been online here and the notification didn’t come up! I hope you had a lovely holiday period and doing well 🙂 xxx

      • kraftycatcreations says:

        Actually, I did have a nice holiday – thank you! The New Year has not been very kind. Have crashed and am no longer working. Hoping less stress on the job and rest will help. Still dreaming of having a jewelry business. Good to have dreams! xxx

      • You worked for far longer than most people would, and I’m sure the rest from it will help you regain some strength! I admire how hard you work, for yourself and others and your optimism! I have no doubt your dream will come true, if anyone can do it, you can! and I’m sending some gypsy luck and gentle hugs and love your way to help a lil 🙂 xxx

  2. kraftycatcreations says:

    Thank you for all your kind words! The gypsy luck, gentle hugs and love you sent help keep my spirits up! All the best, always. xxx Fern 😀

Leave a comment