Slings and other things

Firstly, I would like to thank everyone who has been reading my blog, sharing it, liking it, adding me on twitter and commenting on it. I am overwhelmed by peoples generosity and humbled by the responses I have gotten. Your kindness is much appreciated and I thank each of you deeply.

Today has been a bit of a difficult one. I woke with my right arm paralised from the shoulder down and three of my fingers. I am typing using my left hand and am re writing and correcting it a lot, but I’ll get there in the end through sheer stubbornness if nothing else!:) My son made me a home made sling for my arm as it is really throbbing and spasming, and it’s really helping. I have had a a completely paralised shoulder for three days before but I was lucky it didn’t go into my whole  arm and hand. And Iv’e had paralised hands before but never all three at once. I’ll give it a couple of days and if it isn’t any better I guess I should call my doctor.. I am hoping there won’t be a need too though as there really isn’t much they can do. But I did promise my doctor to call her if I got any worse or any prolonged symptoms so I will keep my promise, with much huffing and puffing. The joys of chronic conditions eh!

This being left handed is actually interesting. I have always been slightly ambidextrious, I use both hands for everything and I taught myself to write left handed a few years ago. Not perfectly and the writing is totally different to my right hand version, but I could do it. But alas, another thing I recently realised was I could no longer write left handed. I tested myself a few weeks back and it was just a mess, and actually made my head hurt. The ability of using my left hand to compensate for my right one has helped a lot when it’s been spasming or frozen. But along with the writing the last few weeks my abiity to use my left hand has become less and less and I do wonder if this is something to do with the neuro side of my M.E. I am on Gabapentin for the neuro aspect of it and to help the seizing of limbs and have been since February. I find they help the constant terrible fizzing I get in the back of my neck and head. The only way to describe it is if you ate popping candy as a kid and remember that crackling you got in mouth and head? That’s the exact feeling I get in my neck any time I move it and in my head. It’s an odd one and not something I’ve known anyone I speak to with M.E have. Maybe others do,? just not anyone I know.

M.E is such a complex and unique condition and people suffer with it uniquely as with Fibro. In some instances I can have a symptom and think, yep that’s definetly an M.E symptom and the same with Fibro. But over the last month I am getting symptoms such as pain in my bones, knees, hips, ankles, wrist bones that also swell that I have no idea what is causing it and neither does my doctor. Hence the home visits and rhumetologist appointment. Other symptoms too, blindness in my left eye, my hair is falling out, I don’t heal if I cut myself, find it hard to eat solid food as it feels as though I am choking. Which isn’t anxiety, I suffered with that years ago and the feeling is totally different. The last three weeks my legs started freezing, the muscle locking causing absolute agony and at other times just total numbness in my legs and feet. I can’t feel them at all. It’s a really odd to try and walk with numb legs and feet, you cant feel your leg moving or feet touching the ground and I end up walking in a side to side waddle which is funny, but deep down I do worry about it.

But today is Mothers Day and I am going to rest up and with lots of toast made in my new four slice toaster. It’s the perfect present and I may even go crazy and put some marmalade on it. Yup, i’m  living on the wild side 😉 Happy Mothers day to all the Mums out there and I hope you all get spoiled rotten 😀

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment