Funeral planning

Some might find this an uncomfortable subject and I am bearing that in mind as I write. But the subject of funerals and how I want mine to be done has been on my mind recently.
Well, for a few years really. When I had treatment for cervical cells was when I really started thinking about it. My son was only 11 at the time and I didn’t want him to be affected more than he had to by my funeral arrangements if my treatment hadn’t of worked. I have had a will in place since I was 17, which mostly detailed custody of my son to go to my parents. I wanted to make sure he was ok if anything did happen to me. Now that’s irrelevant as he’s an adult and I really need to update it which I will as soon as I can.

Anyway, due to my being as I am health wise now I have been seriously thinking about how I want my own funeral to be and what plans I can start making. I want to be buried and I know where, there is a burial ground a few miles away where my family are and my own parents will be buried. But how it will be paid for and arranged is something I am going to arrange. I looked into it last night, and have decided to start a payment plan as soon as I am more financially stable. Which should be by the end of the year. It’s something I want to do, I want to pay for and arrange my own funeral and not put the burden onto anyone, especially not my son. I don’t want him to have to deal with that, or pay for it as it’s very expensive. I will be paying monthly into a fund for it and hopefully I will have many many many years to pay it off. And before I pass on! ๐Ÿ™‚

I will feel more secure in myself by doing it, and be safe in the knowledge that if anything did happen to me then at least the burial burden and expense wont be put onto anyone else.

The subject of my death has never been something I am afraid to deal with. I am not afraid of my own death at all, it’s something that happens to us all eventually, nothing will change that fact. I have faith in what I believe happens when I pass on and this helps me to deal with it much more easily. It’s the people you leave behind that suffer, and I aim to ease that just a little for them by doing what I plan to via arranging things etc..

On a happier note, I started my card making and ordered more supplies. I found it extremely relaxing and therapeutic making them. Theyre aren’t works of art, but works in progress. Once I have gotten a lil better at making them I will post pictures, and won’t photo shop them! Promise ๐Ÿ™‚

Standard

One thought on “Funeral planning

  1. jmsrathbun says:

    Well Said, Its a uncomfortable subject but as I am working with Funeral Program Site and followed the memorial tribute for Many Respected peoples. Thanks for posting.

Leave a comment